Heading Logo

Six picked to run in November for Sumit County Council at-large seat

by Eric Marotta | News Leader Editor Published: May 8, 2014 3:49 PM

Akron -- Three Democrats and three Republican candidates for three Summit County Council at-large seats won the May 6 primary and will face each other in the November election.

The two parties each fielded five primary candidates. The three incumbents, two Democrats and one Republican, will face three challengers at the polls Nov. 4.

According to final, but unofficial results from the Summit County Board of Elections, the Democratic winners were John A. Donofrio with 11,898 votes, incumbent Ilene Shapiro with 11,769 votes, and incumbent Sandra Kurt with 9,787 votes. Daniel A. Congrove and Michael Wheeler earned 5,967 and 5,087 votes, respectively.

According to final, but unofficial results from the Summit County Board of Elections, the Republican winners were Debbie Walsh with 8,674 votes, incumbent Bill Roemer with 8,495 votes, and Gary William Hagen with 6,421 votes. Jay F. Iula and Carl Richard Crew earned 3,840 and 3,575 votes, respectively.

According to the Board of Elections, overall voter turnout for the election was just over 11 percent, with around 41,000 ballots cast out of about 280,000 registered voters.

[Article continues below]

Of those who voted, about 51 percent were Democrats, versus 41 percent Republican. About 7 percent cast non-partisan ballots, and 25 Green Party voters and 99 Libertarians cast ballots.

About 85 percent of voters (35,817) voted at the polls, while 15 percent (5,468) cast absentee ballots, according to the Board of Elections.

Eric Marotta: 330-541-9433




Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.